Thinking about how to professionalise local football match reports

Football is something I still don’t understand how I suddenly bacame it’s fan. Before 2013, I knew little or nothing about the English Premier League. I only knew a few teams such as Liverpool FC, Arsenal FC, Manchester United FC etc. As a young boy, watching football matches was expensive as we had to pay to watch matches. I grew to dislike the game because I could not also kick the ball well.

Today, almost every man talks about football; it’s the dream of many children to be like Samuel Eto’o, Didier Drogba, Ronaldo, Zidane etc. Playing the game is one thing and reporting the game is another thing. Many people who are far from home will always like to have images, fixtures, results and standings of their favourite local inter quarters football competitions. From behind the scenes, I have tried to cover some local football matches in Nkambe and Tabenken villages and post the match details on Facebook and my blogs. The reaction has always made me want to do more. With my experience and urge to improve, I am thinking and planning great ahead of the the next local football related activities. 

After anchoring International Soccer News at the Donga Mantung Community Radio(DMCR) since December 2013, I have become so familiar with the local game and its challenges amongst which are;

  1. The lack apolitical donors.
  2. Poor schedules.
  3. Insufficient professional match officials.
  4. Lack of good playgrounds
  5. Lack of a modern data saving tool to preserve all match details for further use.

HOW DO WE THEREFORE PROFESSIONALISE OUR LOCAL FOOTBALL COMPETITIONS?

In a solo suggestion, we have to treat football as one of the greatest factors of unity thereby encouraging it. In my village Tabenken, even when there is no donour, quarters still assemble and contribute money (sometimes 6000 FCFA per team) for the sake of fostering love, unity and joy in the the Tang Mboh valley. It does not necessarily requires money to organise a memorable village base football tournament; the will alone can destroy all invisible organisational barriers. 

As for me, I will sacrifice my energy, time, and money to invest in reporting about local football. Many upcoming football kings and queens are uncovered and consequently unknown. Let’s give it a try.

Author: Njobe Serge Ngala

A Masters 1 student, Université de Dschang. Blogger and radio anchor

Leave a Reply

